Life with Brain Lesions – Migraines & Essential Tremors

By Blind Artist George Redhawk

 

Few years ago I lost Grandad to Cancer the same month my Daddy was diagnosed with Prostate Cancer, I was studying at Uni plus working shifts in Nursing when I developed a stabbing migraine pain. Being a migraine sufferer anyway just presumed it was just another brought on by stress.  Over many months my right side slowly began to have shakes, the type you get if not eaten or just carried a heavy bag, being on the go none stop at work ect – just put it down to that.

On a routine check up for a MOT Dr became concerned about my tremors. A few weeks to go till Christmas was sent for MRI, X-ray and tons blood tests, DR thought may have MS or Parkinson’s disease!!  –  Finally results came back thankfully wasn’t MS nor Parkinson’s but sent for DAT Scan at QE Hospital as the Nurologist still wasn’t happy.

Christmas came and went, along with thoughts of what I could have, was also on duty over Christmas too, so stress was at a max. Results came – told I had black abnormalities on right side of my brain, also called brain lesions. No I’d never heard of it either, thankfully Google had!

People who experience migraine headaches have a greater risk of developing brain lesions and other problems, according to a new study appearing in the journal Neurology similar to cell death, which is caused by lack of oxygen to the brain. The researchers found that people with migraines ran a higher risk of brain lesions, abnormalities in brain white matter, and altered brain volume. The latter two have been associated with numerous conditions, including multiple sclerosis, obsessive-compulsive disorder which brings on MS, Parkinson’s and ET!

Benign Essential Tremor (ET) is a nerve disorder characterized by uncontrollable shaking, or “tremors,” in different parts and on different sides of the body. Areas affected often include the hands, arms, head, larynx (voice box), tongue, and chin. It is only when the tremors become severe that they actually cause disability. Essential tremor is a common movement disorder affecting around four out of 100 adults over 40 years of age. Some people only have a mild tremor at first, which usually gets more severe over time.

While the definition sounds simple, understanding brain lesions can be complicated. That’s because there are many types of brain lesions. They can range from few to many, from relatively harmless to life threatening.

Benign Essential Tremor Symptoms:

  • Headaches.
  • Neck pain or stiffness.
  • Lack of appetite.
  • Depression.
  • Changes in mood, personality, behavior, mental ability, and lack of concentration.
  • Memory loss or confusion.
  • Seizures.

There is no cure for essential tremor so treatment aims to eliminate or reduce shaking. Lifestyle changes, medication or surgery may also be used. Medication most commonly used to treat essential tremor include beta-blockers (propranolol) sadly I can’t take this as I’m Asthmatic. I have been tried on many different forms of medication, feeling like a rat in a science lab, all with terrible side effects some actually making the shakes worse.

In the end I decided medication for now wasn’t for me – Maybe in the future, who knows. Since I left Nursing I deal with ET my way. Avoiding stress means I can live a normal life. Yes, I know your smiling and yes we all have stress in our lives, but it’s how you deal with it so it avoids making a big impact on your health. I still have tremors but only in my right hand and also very light. Compared to what it used to be like I’m happy with that.

To find out more about ET don’t google you will only scare yourself silly!! Visit your DR and you can also chat to others on Social Media.

 

Leave a Reply

