Grenfell charity single: ‘I refuse to forget you’

“I refuse to forget you, I refuse to be silenced, I refuse to neglect you…
That could have been my mum’s house or that could have been me up their”

The track is a spin on the Simon and Garfunkel classic track Bridge Over Troubled Water and features more than 50 stars including grime artist Stormzy, Robbie Williams, Celine Dion and Craig David. Paul McCartney, Brian May and Roger Daltrey are also among the vocallists contributing, with other lines sung by Rita Ora, Pixie Lott, Ella Eyre and Paloma Faith. Pianist Tokio Myers, who recently won Britain’s Got Talent, has recorded part of the single, as have Bastille, James Blunt and One Direction members Liam Payne and Louis Tomlinson.

The song is led by choirmaster Gareth Malone, who directs a 300 -strong choir on the single as well as a local community choir, some of whose participants were directly affected by the fire.

It was recorded at west London’s Sarm Studios, half a mile away from the Grenfell Tower site. Simon Cowell has also donated £100,000 to the Grenfell foundation himself.

Rap artist Stomzy has written an introductory verse to the single which features the lines:

“I don’t know where to begin/So I’ll start by saying I refuse to forget you/I refuse to be silenced/I refuse to neglect you”.

Leave a Reply

